Letters From The Edge of Blogspace: Tunnels

Published January 7, 2015 by Christine

It’s sometimes, frequently weird, to sit here, surrounded by friends, ones wife, even one’s canine companion, and feel exclusively alone. To know that the only person who knows what is really happening is inside your own head. Its a unique feeling. I wonder if I should feel honoured by it. That I can sit here, feeling such despair, such lonliness and yet be surrounded by people who Iove and who love me. Its peculiar to think that the very thing I, we, are going through is the very thing that is supposed to stop the way I’m feeling now. It doesn’t though. It’s just part of it. Its the tunnel we have to travel through, with storms at one end and sunlight at the other. There are storms in the tunnel though. I’m going through one.

The storms don’t last though. Their frequency varies, as does their intensity but they don’t last. The trouble is, they hurt. They can hurt badly, and it can take a long time to recover from a storm. The trouble is explaining the damage these storms do, both physically and mentally. As I write this, I’m coming out of one now and I’m still hurting. I’m listening to music and it’s slowly bringing me home. To be honest its horrifying, annoying and fascinating all at the same time. The way that the mind works. Its also incredibly scary. The feelings it can induce.

The deepest, darkest parts of the depression are caused by being transsexual. The rest? Depression caused by knowing that, despite everything I do, I will never be what I should have been.

What brings me out of the depression? Being the best I can be and knowing that as long as I have done what I can to the best of my ability, as long as I have not bowed to the storm. I am happy.

Although, the tunnel is still there.

4 comments on “Letters From The Edge of Blogspace: Tunnels

  • Please comment...

        Notes on Linux

    A bit of a Debian Fan...

    Waffle Alert

    My life with my teenage Trans Child

    Josie's World

    Trans-Is-Beautiful

    Into the Nitty Gritty of a Male of Transgender Experience

     “You cannot control what happens to you, but you can control your attitude toward what happens to you, and in that, you will be mastering change rather than allowing it to master you.”

    Wandering Wives

    A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

    Bromium Labs

    Call of the Wild Blog

    Challenging Journeys (Phase 2)

    A short wander through the mind of a probationary politician

    Emma World

    A Transition Blog

    Androgynous Wisdom

    Blur Bounds, Cultivate Compassion

    L'lerrét Allure

    Through a woman's lens

    One HuMan's Journey

    Transitioning Genderspace at 50

    Thoughts By Sally Baker

    A topnotch WordPress.com site

    Indulge litterae

    By: Janelle Corpen

    Disrupted Physician

    The Physician Wellness Movement and Illegitimate Authority: The Need for Revolt and Reconstruction

    hessianwithteeth

    This site is all about ideas

    KURT★BRINDLEY

    writing ★ producing ★ editing

    isadolly

    Trans & Happy

